Skip to content ↓

Health and Social Care

Successful people have a social responsibility to make the world a better place and not just take from it.”

BTEC Extended certificate level 3 Health and Social Care  equivalent to One A level

This qualification is part of the suite of Health and Social Care qualifications offered by Pearson.

BTEC National qualifications provide a broad introduction that gives learners transferable knowledge and skills. This qualification is for post-16 learners who want to continue their education through applied learning. The qualifications prepare learners for a range of higher education courses and job roles related to a particular sector. They provide progression either by meeting entry requirements in their own right or by being accepted alongside other qualifications at the same level and adding value to them. In the health and social care sector these qualifications are:

Pearson BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate in Health and Social Care (360 GLH) 601/7197/2. Equivalent in size to one A Level

Entry Requirement

4 units of which 3 are mandatory and 2 are external.

Mandatory content (83%). External assessment (58%).

A broad basis of study for the health and social care sector. This qualification is designed to support progression to higher education when taken as part of a programme of study that includes other appropriate BTEC Nationals or A Levels.

 1 Human Lifespan Development (25%) MANDATORY EXAM 1.5. HOURS

 2 Working in Health and Social Care (33%) MANDATORY EXAM 1.5 HOURS

 5 Meeting Individual Care and Support Needs (25%) MANDATORY  COURSEWORK

 14 Physiological Disorders and their Care (17%) SELECTIVE COURSEWORK

Future Applications

Nursing, Midwifery, Allied Professions, Care Work, Early years, Teaching


Jessica - Midwifery at  Anglia Ruskin University